Cheaper than therapy

Real friendship is hard to find, difficult to leave and impossible to forget.

Everybody isn’t your friend. Just because they’re around you and laugh with you doesn’t mean that they’re there for you. Just because they say they’ve got your back doesn’t mean they won’t stab it in during a situation of selfishness. People can pretend well because jealousy doesn’t live far. At the end of the day, selfless situations expose those who aren’t meant to be yours, so.. Pay attention. Friendship is a strange phenom because if you think about it, it’s completely unnecessary. Like philosophy, or art.. It has no survival value, only people who choose to keep its value alive. 

In recent time, I’ve been feeling unmotivated, anxious and uninspired. I decided to take the summer off school (for the first time in my academic career!) to unplug and do some self-discovery. But most importantly, pin point the trigger that made my insides churn. Taking the time off was difficult, having free time and not be in the routine of studying made me feel like I was failing, or not diligent enough to continue to stay stimulated. What I have found most difficult in my adult life is being at peace with the insecurity of being a 23-year old pre-medical student pursuing a dream that has deemed to be impossible by most. With a constant revolving door of thoughts of what I “should,” or “need” to be doing made me feel incapable until a faithful night with good friends and like minds.

After meeting with said friends, I was reminded of the beauty of taking the time to discover what’s best for me. What I walked away with is that our journey is unique to ourselves, to never feed into the naysayers and to always have the courage to put heart and intuition in everything that you do. And with that, success is sure to follow. I’ve let go of many friendships, but what I’ve found the most important is to have real friendships rather than multiple ones. Tonight, I am grateful to those friends who continue to garden my soul; friends who have grown separately, yet never apart. You make me so happy. 

Having a soulmate is not always about love. You can find a soulmate in a friendship too. 

So here are my doctors orders: Inertia (in so many words) can be a bitch, so it’s always better to choose your course wisely. Surround yourself with the dreamers and the doers, the believers and the thinkers, surround yourself with those who see greatness within you even during the times you couldn’t see it for yourself. Surround yourself with those you feel have similar heart strings and with those that give you the freedom to be yourself.

Xo, T. 

Leave a Reply

